Controlling the Maplin Robot Arm with Scratch V2 Offline on Microsoft Windows 10

In a complete departure from my previous posts, and as a result of buying one of these Arms for my kids for Christmas I thought I would write-up what I have done with it.

This is the Maplin Robot Arm  (~£29 discounted), I think originally it is made by a company called OWI from the US.

Maplin USB Robot Arm

Maplin USB Robot Arm

This is a basic arm with 5 motors and can be controlled from Windows with the supplied software or from Linux (i.e. Raspberry Pi, using some basic Python)

I was looking to see if the arm could be controlled/programmed from MIT’s Scratch programming language so that my youngest kid to join in too, and the answer is yes!

Most of the information, work (and credit) I needed to do was already done at a great blog post by Franco Raimondi.

I have updated the instructions for Microsoft Windows 10 and also modified the Python code needed so that it runs on Python 3.51.

Click to read more and the full instructions.

This entry was posted in Maplin, Python, Robot Arm, Scratch, tinkering, Uncategorized, Windows 10. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Controlling the Maplin Robot Arm with Scratch V2 Offline on Microsoft Windows 10

  1. Pete says:

    Thank you very much for posting these instructions. Being able to use Scratch and Python to control the Maplin Robotic arm makes it a far more powerful educational tool.
    I found that white, opaque, 35mm film cans are great objects to move around and they glow nicely when lit by the arm’s LED light. 😉

Leave a Reply

